Posted in #AltRead 2017 Book Reviews 2017 NetGalley Challenge 2017 Reviews

#Review: Borne by Jeff VanderMeer @HarperCollins @4thEstateBooks ‏

In a ruined, nameless city of the future, a woman named Rachel, who makes her living as a scavenger, finds a creature she names “Borne” entangled in the fur of Mord, a gigantic, despotic bear. Mord once prowled the corridors of the biotech organization known as the Company, which lies at the outskirts of the city, until he was experimented on, grew large, learned to fly and broke free. Driven insane by his torture at the Company, Mord terrorizes the city even as he provides sustenance for scavengers like Rachel.

At first, Borne looks like nothing at all—just a green lump that might be a Company discard. The Company, although severely damaged, is rumoured to still make creatures and send them to distant places that have not yet suffered Collapse.

Borne somehow reminds Rachel of the island nation of her birth, now long lost to rising seas. She feels an attachment she resents; attachments are traps, and in this world any weakness can kill you. Yet when she takes Borne to her subterranean sanctuary, the Balcony Cliffs, Rachel convinces her lover, Wick, not to render Borne down to raw genetic material for the drugs he sells—she cannot break that bond.

Wick is a special kind of supplier, because the drug dealers in the city don’t sell the usual things. They sell tiny creatures that can be swallowed or stuck in the ear, and that release powerful memories of other people’s happier times or pull out forgotten memories from the user’s own mind—or just produce beautiful visions that provide escape from the barren, craterous landscapes of the city.

Against his better judgment, out of affection for Rachel or perhaps some other impulse, Wick respects her decision. Rachel, meanwhile, despite her loyalty to Wick, knows he has kept secrets from her. Searching his apartment, she finds a burnt, unreadable journal titled “Mord,” a cryptic reference to the Magician (a rival drug dealer) and evidence that Wick has planned the layout of the Balcony Cliffs to match the blueprint of the Company building. What is he hiding? Why won’t he tell her about what happened when he worked for the Company?

Continue Reading...
Posted in #All Reviews #AltRead 2017 Book Reviews 2017 NetGalley Challenge 2017 Reviews

#Review: The Monster in the Closet by Karen Rose – Long awaited Baltimore Series Book 5 @KarenRoseBooks

The Sunday Times bestselling author of Every Dark Corner returns with an exclusive novel celebrating ten years of Karen Rose’s thrillers in the UK. MONSTER IN THE CLOSET reunites readers with characters from Karen Rose’s bestselling Baltimore series.

Here’s my review of Karen Rose’s Monster in the Closet – a romantic suspense thriller. (The Baltimore Series Book 5)

Continue Reading...
Posted in #All Reviews #AltRead 2017 Book Reviews 2017 British Book Challenge 2017 Reviews

#Review: The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances @panmacmillan

A relentlessly paced domestic noir examining the mother-son-daughter-in-law relationship in a chilling new light

The addictive Number One bestselling thriller, perfect for fans of Into the Water.

Continue Reading...
Posted in #All Reviews #AltRead 2017 Book Reviews 2017 Reviews All Reviews

#Review: My Sister by Michelle Adams @MAdamswriter @millieseaward

MY SISTER by Michelle Adams is an addictive, twisty, shocking debut thriller – an intimate tale of family secrets that will grip readers who devoured Clare Mackintosh’s I LET YOU GO and S.K. Tremayne’s THE ICE TWINS. Here’s what I thought!

Continue Reading...
Posted in #All Reviews #AltRead 2017 Book Reviews 2017 NetGalley Challenge 2017 Reviews All Reviews

#Review: Boss by Sierra Cartwright @Totally_Bound ‏@SierraWrites

British born Sierra is a USA Today, International Best-Selling author who wrote her first book at age nine and hasn’t stopped since.

Sierra invites you to share the complex journey of love and desire, of surrender and commitment.

Her own journey has taught her that trusting takes guts and courage, and her work is a celebration for everyone who is willing to take that risk.

Continue Reading...
Posted in #All Reviews #AltRead 2017 Book Reviews 2017 British Book Challenge 2017 Reviews ARC copy

#Review: Into the Water – Swept Away @ThomasssHill @PaulaHWrites

PAULA HAWKINS worked as a journalist for fifteen years before turning her hand to fiction. Born and brought up in Zimbabwe, Paula moved to London in 1989 and has lived there ever since. Her first thriller, The Girl on the Train, has been a global phenomenon, selling almost 20 million copies worldwide. It has been published in over forty languages, has been a No.1 bestseller around the world and was a No.1 box office hit film starring Emily Blunt. Into the Water is her second stand-alone thriller. May 2017 9780857524423 £20.00 : Hardback 368 pages

Continue Reading...
Posted in 2017 Book Reviews 2017 Reviews Amazon VINE Book Amazon VINE Review Amazon Vine Reviewer ARC copy Article GoodReads Review

Review: Tell Me No Lies #Review #AltRead

Tell Me No Lies by Lisa Hall My rating: 4 of 5 stars This review is from: Tell Me No Lies (Paperback) Customer review from…

Continue Reading...