Blackout #Review #Booktour & #giveaway with #author @SimonScarrow #Historical #WWII #Thriller

Blackout by Simon Scarrow on #altread

Welcome to Alternative-Read.com

I’m excited to bring you news of THE STUNNING SECOND WORLD WAR THRILLER FROM THE CELEBRATED SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR SIMON SCARROW! Below are my thoughts on his novel Blackout, which was a Richard and Judy Book Club pick.

Coco and Crash with Sassy Brit in the Sun, before the snow! #altread
Picture : Coco and Crash with Sassy Brit in the Sun, before the snow! #altread

By the way, I cannot believe I took this photo only a couple of days ago when the sun was shining enough for me to get my sunbed out. And today it’s cold, windy and snowing!!! Snow, I tell you! Whaaaaat?

Review on Alternative-Read.com

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Review: 

Blackout : A World War II Thriller by Simon Scarrow draws us into the frightening world of the Third Reich during a cold Christmas in 1939 with a fine plot and detailed characters. Thrown into the spotlight by some of the highest members of the Reich for not joining the Nazi Party, Criminal Inspector Horst Schenke is forced to take on a murder case because of his apparent neutrality. But in a time where the law is what the Nazis say it is, and people are killed for their disloyalty, Schenke realises he in a dangerous position if he has to solve this murder case before Christmas amist warring fractions. Then it comes to light there are more deaths where women have been both killed and found in a similar way and they realise they are now looking for a serial killer. To say the pressure is on is an understatement when Schenke and his team have so much at stake.

I really enjoyed this historical fiction and the thrilling way Scarrow made me root for Horst to do the right thing under the worst conditions. The irony is he hasn’t just got to catch a serial killer before Christmas, he is amongst a whole nest of killers, ruthless members of the Nazi Party who will stop at nothing to get what they want — personally and politically. It’s a race against time which added to the speed of which I read, eagerly waiting to see how Scarrow would wrap up this terrific story.

If you’ve not read this historical fiction, detective novel yet, I urge you to grab a copy, as I am positive it will not disappoint!

Book Tour and Giveaway

 

Blackout

by Simon Scarrow

Genre: Historical WWII Thriller

About the Book: During Berlin’s brutally cold winter of 1939, a serial killer stalks the city throughout the Third Reich’s forced nightly blackouts in this chilling WWII crime novel from #1 Sunday Times bestselling author Simon Scarrowperfect for fans of Babylon Berlin, Philip Kerr’s Berlin Trilogy, Robert Ludlum, Andrew Gross, and William Christie . . .

Berlin 1939. The city is blanketed by snow and ice. In the distance, the rumble of war grows louder. In the shadows, a serial killer rises . . .

As the Nazis tighten their chokehold on the capital, panic and paranoia fester as blackout is rigidly enforced. Every night the city is plunged into an oppressive, suffocating darkness—pitch perfect conditions for unspeakable acts.

When a young woman is found brutally murdered, it’s up to Criminal Inspector Horst Schenke to solve the case quickly. His reputation is already on the line for his failure to join the Nazi Party. If he doesn’t solve the case, the consequences could be fatal.

Schenke’s worst fears are confirmed when a second victim is found. As the investigation takes him deeper into the regime’s darkest corridors, Schenke realizes danger lurks behind every corner—and that the warring factions of the Reich can be as deadly as a killer stalking the streets . . .

That line between right and wrong gets pretty smudged in this gem of a story. Atmosphere, sharp intrigue, and a host of fascinating characters all combine to make this one the next addition to your keeper shelf.”
—Steve Berry,
New York Times bestselling author

“Mesmerising. Nail-biting. Unputdownable. Utterly authentic and beautifully written.”
—Damien Lewis, internationally bestselling author

Add to Goodreads

Amazon * Apple * B&N * Kobo * Website * Kensington Books

About the Author: Simon Scarrow’s passion for writing began at an early age. After a childhood spent travelling the world, he pursued his great love of history as a teacher before becoming a full-time writer. His Roman soldier heroes Cato and Macro made their debut in 2000 in UNDER THE EAGLE, and have subsequently appeared in many bestsellers in the Eagles of the Empire series, including CENTURION, THE GLADIATOR and THE BLOOD OF ROME. Simon’s latest books, BLACKOUT and THE EMPEROR’S EXILE, are out now.

Simon is also the author of the novels YOUNG BLOODS, THE GENERALS, FIRE AND SWORD and THE FIELDS OF DEATH, chronicling the lives of the Duke of Wellington and Napoleon Bonaparte, and of SWORD & SCIMITAR, the epic tale of the 1565 Siege of Malta, and HEARTS OF STONE, set in Greece during the Second World War.

Simon has also co-written with T. J. Andrews three bestselling novels set in the Roman era, ARENA, INVADER and PIRATA.

Writing with Lee Francis, Simon is the author of the contemporary thriller PLAYING WITH DEATH.

Simon lives in Norfolk.

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Bookbub * Amazon * Goodreads

 
Follow the tour HERE for special content and a giveaway!
 
$10 Amazon
 
 
 
 

For a chance of more entries into the giveaway, comment on our blog below!

 

 

Follow Alternative-Read : Twitter | Facebook Page | Instagram

Don’t forget you can add our posts to your Amazon Alexa. Just go to your Alexa App and look under ‘Flash Briefing’ to find (and add) our BOOK NEWS AND REVIEWS Amazon Alexa app. Look for our Book News Logo (shown below). 

Alternative-Read.com BOOK NEWS works with Alexa #altread
Add us to your Amazon Alexa! I recommend you add us to the END of your ‘Flash Briefing’ news, as our posts are not THAT short and flashy. 
 

Lets chat on Alternative-Read.com

Book News & Reviews Newsletter
Click the Book News and Reviews Newsletter image above to join us! Thanks for supporting Alternative-Read.com
Until next time, may your books be with you!

Author: Sassy Brit, Author Assistant

Founder and Owner of Alternative-Read.com author personal and virtual assistant. Editor and reviewer for #altread since 2005.

One thought on “Blackout #Review #Booktour & #giveaway with #author @SimonScarrow #Historical #WWII #Thriller

  1. Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of Blackout, it sounds like an excellent read

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.