Alex McKenna & A Winter’s Night #booktour & #giveaway with #author Vicki-Ann Bush! @VickiAnnBush #YA #Paranormal #LGBTQ

SD Book Tour with Vicki-Ann Bush

The Ascenders Saga Box Set #Booktour & #giveaway with #author by C.L. Gaber! @CLGaber @SDSXXTours Alternative-Read.com

This episode is also available as a blog post: https://alternative-read.com/the-ascenders-saga-box-set-booktour-giveaway-with-author-by-c-l-gaber-clgaber-sdsxxtours/ Thanks for listening! Sassy & Amy (Sassamy!) Alternative-Read.com — Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/alternative-readcom/message
  1. The Ascenders Saga Box Set #Booktour & #giveaway with #author by C.L. Gaber! @CLGaber @SDSXXTours
  2. How the Duke Saved Christmas #booktour & #giveaway with #author Anna Harrington! @SDSXXTours @aharrington2875
  3. Accidental Sugar Daddy #Booktour & #giveaway with #author Kaci Rose! @AuthorKaciRose #Steamy #ContemporaryBillionaire #Romance
  4. Born For This #Guestpost #tour & #giveaway with #author Maggie Blackbird! #Historical #timetravel #romance @BlackbirdMaggie
  5. The Unheard #SaturdaySpotlight #Interview with Bestselling #Author(s) Nicci French @FrenchNicci #SaturdayShare #Review

Welcome to Alternative-Read.com

Very happy to share this fun YA Paranormal, LGBTQ series with you, as we join author Vicki-Ann Bush on her book tour. We start with a great guest post featuring an excerpt from book one!

Guest Post AR Pink Banner

Excerpt from Alex McKenna and the Geranium Deaths

(Book 1, The Alex McKenna Series). 

 

Alex held Margaret, his firm hand pressing her head to his shoulder. His breath brushed across her ear. “Don’t look, no matter what you hear. That’s how it gets you.”

All the other victims had turned to ice. Alex couldn’t understand why, but the rules didn’t apply to him. None of the deceased were family, so maybe that was his armor. His family history protected him somehow.

They were huddled behind the furnace in the basement while they attempted to construct an escape plan. Although in a frenzy, Alex knew the level of heat from the unit should be enough to throw the beast temporarily off their trail. The foul spirit followed the warmth from the living, which made hiding from its ghostly grips difficult. The tighter he held Margaret, the more he worried about Wilby. His little brother had bolted in the other direction.

Alex was careful not to touch the hot, metal tank as he peered around it. He made the mistake a few years back of carelessly brushing against it while moving some boxes. The scar on his right arm left a permanent reminder. Alex crinkled his nose—the damp walls and seventy-year-old pipes needed more than a little fresh air.

It was dark in every corner except for a sliver of light emanating from the single ground-level window. He hated the basement, and especially the furnace room. It was the part of the below-ground space that wasn’t finished, and he felt like he stepped into a portal to hell every time he was there. He could sense the darkened soul still lurking in the shadows but couldn’t hone in on it. Only the goosebumps standing to attention on his arms confirmed his suspicions. He eased back behind the tank. His plan worked for the moment, but it also limited their options. Now he needed a solid way to find Wilby and escape.

“I think I know how we can get out of the house.” Alex spoke softly. “But you’re gonna have to trust me.”

She nodded her head, her eyes widened with fear. Neither were normally the type to rattle easily, this one had them both off-balance.

“I know you’re really scared right now. So am I. But I also know you can do this. I’m going to lead the creature toward the attic.”

“Alex. No.” Margaret grabbed his t-shirt and gripped tightly.

He softly smiled.

“It will follow me. Then you get the hell out of here and find Wilby. Try my mom’s room first; he used to hide under her bed when he was little. It made him feel safe.

“Luckily, that thing stayed on our heels. I know the darkness is down here with us. My bumps are strong. After I get its attention, I’ll run for the stairs. You give it a minute or two before following. Get Wilby, and then head back down here and out that window.” Alex pointed to the ground window. It was big enough for Wilby and Margaret to fit through. “See the large wrench on the bench? Use it to break the window. My mom has rags over there, too. Line the ledge so you guys don’t get cut.”

“Why don’t we just break one of the windows in the den? They’re larger.”

“No. It would be harder to break through one of the double panes, and it would attract a lot more attention. This way you’ll barely be heard.”

Margaret shook her head. “I can’t leave you.” A tear streamed down her cheek.

“I need you to do this for Wilby.” Alex hesitated. He yearned to kiss her but settled for a pal hug. “Text me when both of you are out.”

“How are you going to get the hell out of the house?”

“Don’t worry, I got a plan.” There was no plan, but he had to tell her something so she would agree. Margaret’s fierce when it comes to protecting the ones she loves.

He pulled away and eased out into the open. A chill ran up his spine—it was close. Alex squinted, trying to distinguish the difference in the shadows. He took a step forward; a blast of cold air startled him, raising the hair on his arms and roiling the butterflies in his stomach. He was headed straight toward the evil spirit.

A low, gravelly hum tainted his ears. Could Margaret hear it? He shook his head. No, he was not about to call out and give up her location. He shifted his eyes toward the right, his heart pounding. The beast lunged forward and reached out with a translucent, icy hand. Alex ducked and swerved. Spinning around, he ran straight for the door, and crossed the threshold before it could stop him. He scrambled up the stairs and made the mistake of turning back. It was a costly move. He tripped, and his body hit the floorboards, scraping his knees. He could feel stinging cuts but chose to ignore it.

A frozen grip seized his leg and a layer of ice spread across the denim like a fungus. Furiously, Alex kicked free and scrambled back to his feet, running for the staircase to the second level. The entrance to the attic was in the hallway. Once he got the spirit there, he could buy Margaret the time she needed.

He reached the top of the staircase, rounded the corner, and reached for the knob. There was no need. The door flew open, slamming it into the wall. Chips of plaster exploded and nicked Alex near his left eye. He didn’t stop. Taking the steep steps two at a time, he ran to the center of the room. He heard the door slam and knew his plan had worked.

He was alone with the dark soul and nowhere to go.



 

Book Tour and Giveaway

 

 

Alex McKenna & A Winter’s Night

The Alex McKenna Series Book 3

by Vicki-Ann Bush

Genre: YA Paranormal, LGBTQ

 

The third installment in the award-winning Alex McKenna Series, this LGBTQ teen paranormal adventure perfect for fans of Aidan Thomas’ CEMETERY BOYS and LOST IN THE NEVER WOODS.

For a minute, everything in Alex McKenna’s life was perfect. He only had one year left of high school, his girlfriend Margaret was the love of his life, and he couldn’t ask for a more supportive family.

His psychic powers were growing and he was learning more and more about his family’s abilities as Strega witches. Things were good.

Until the night it all fell to pieces.

As Margaret lies in the hospital after a serious car accident, her disembodied spirit searches for a way back to the living. Alex is desperate to save her and the victims of his next case: an ominous being haunting the hospital and stealing the souls of infants and the elderly, sending them straight to Hell.

Add to Goodreads

Amazon * Parliament House Press

 

Alex McKenna & The Academy of Souls

The Alex McKenna Series Book 2

 

After surviving a harrowing case, Alex McKenna just wanted to rest. Unfortunately, his plans are interrupted by the ghost of Seven-year-old Haven, who is lost in an in-between realm.

Despite his great-grandmother’s warning, Alex crosses the bridge between the living and the dead, sending him and his girlfriend into the world of the Academy of Souls, a high school for dead teens who are unable to complete their journey.

There, Alex meets Ophelia, Haven’s teenage sister, who’s been searching for her for more than a century. Together, with a few friends he meets along the way, Alex must cross the treacherous terrain of the Underworld in-between, to save Haven from clutches of the Soul Gatherer and reunite the sisters.

 

**Kindle Sale for only $1.99!**

Add to Goodreads

Amazon * B&N * Google * Parliament House Press

Audiobook On Sale Now!

 

 

Alex McKenna & The Geranium Deaths

The Alex McKenna Series Book 1

 

 

For Alex McKenna, high school is just a distraction from the love of his life, Margaret, with whom he can’t wait to spend more time once they get to college.

In many respects, Alex is just an average seventeen-year-old boy…except for the fact he’s a transgender medium born from a long line of Strega witches, possessing the ability to communicate with ghosts.

With the help of Margaret and his talented Strega great-grandmother, Alex will learn how to strengthen his abilities. The dead need Alex to help them reconcile issues they left behind—and he finds that he needs them, too. As his abilities multiply, assisting the dead becomes an outlet to channel his new energy, giving him the strength to come to terms with who he is as a transgender male, and how far he will choose to go.

 

Add to Goodreads

Amazon * B&N * Google * Parliament House Press

Audiobook on Sale now!

 

Originally from New York, I’ve been living my author adventure in Nevada for the past thirty-six years. Ominous landscapes have served up sweet delectables for my craving mind.

When I’m not writing you can find me cuddled up with my husband, our Chihuahua-Yorkie mix, Curie, she’s the sweetest girl, and completing our little family, our boy Cuba, a proud, and sometimes mushy great Dane.

My likes include, movie and TV binging, going out to eat for breakfast, and dining alfresco. Oh, and Disneyland…and coffee…and wine.

Dislikes are simple, cruelty of any kind.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram * Bookbub * Amazon * Goodreads

 

Watch a video about the author and her books!
 

Follow the tour HERE for special content and a giveaway!

$20 Amazon

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 
 

 

Follow Alternative-Read : Twitter | Facebook Page | Instagram | Email 

 

 

Lets chat on Alternative-Read.com

Book News & Reviews Newsletter
Click the Book News and Reviews Newsletter image above to join us! Thanks for supporting Alternative-Read.com

Author: Sassy Brit, Author Assistant

Founder of Alternative-Read.com, Executive Assistant for Writing Warriors United, and virtual author assistant for busy book professionals and small publishing houses. Editor and reviewer for #altread since 2005.

7 thoughts on “Alex McKenna & A Winter’s Night #booktour & #giveaway with #author Vicki-Ann Bush! @VickiAnnBush #YA #Paranormal #LGBTQ

  1. Congratulations on your upcoming release of Alex McKenna and A Winter’s Night, VIcki-Ann! I enjoyed the excerpt and the Alex McKenna series sounds like a great one for me! Thanks for sharing it with me and have a magical holiday season!

  2. I like the covers, synopses and excerpt, this sounds like an awesome book and series, a must read for me. Thank you for posting

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.