#AltRead 2018 Book Reviews 2018 Reviews All Reviews

Her Perfect Life: A gripping (for some) debut #psychologicalthriller with a killer twist by Sam Hepburn #REVIEW

Welcome to our latest review post on Alternative-Read.com.

Thanks for visiting! Feel free to leave a link back to your blog below.

Luv, Sass x

P.S. CHECK OUT Sassy On Facebook | YouTube | My Business Facebook Page | Instagram | Bloglovin' | Giveaways! | >| Twitter LinkedIn | Pinterest | Alternative-Read.com | Patreon FREE BOOKS Wattpad | Inkitt Free Read #1 | Free Read #2 | Free Read #3  Thank you!

her perfect life

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

Her Perfect Life

by Sam Hepburn

A twisty psychological thriller for fans of I Let You Go and Behind Closed Doors.

How far would you go to create the perfect life?

Gracie Dwyer has it all: the handsome husband, the adorable child, the beautiful home and the glittering career. The perfect life.

Her new friend Juliet doesn’t exactly fit in. She’s a down-on-her-luck single parent with no money and not much hope.

So just what is it that draws Gracie and Juliet together? And when the cracks start to appear in Gracie’s perfect life, can both of them survive?

 

 

MY REVIEW:

Her Perfect LifeHer Perfect Life by Sam Hepburn

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m a long time in finishing “Her Perfect Life” hailed as A gripping debut psychological thriller with a killer twist by Sam Hepburn. Is it? I’ll be honest, I struggled to get through this and picked it up several times to start again. It’s not that is it written badly, it just doesn’t sound right when I hear it in my head, which may only be me, but this stilted voice put me off and kept taking me out of the flow. It was disjointed. And if that isn’t bad enough, the plot was confusing and I had to re-read scenes to make sure I’d understood it correctly. This totally saddens me, because I loved the whole idea of this story’s theme, but can’t say I enjoyed the read as much as I had hoped. I’d even worked out the twist in the end…

We hear alternating viewpoints from both Grace and Juliet, whilst there’s a third girl’s point of view that also pops ups randomly through her diary entries. I was intrigued enough to keep reading as the pace did get quicker later on and I wanted to know who this other girl was and how she fit into the picture, but I think by this time I’d already lost interest and just wanted to get to the end. Always disappointing when that happens.

What did you think of this book? 

Order now at Amazon USA!

This is an Amazon Associate link, where I will get a small (tiny) contribution if you make a purchase through the UK site.

I’m an Amazon Affiliate. Some images may be linked, at not cost to you.

Visit Sassy’s: 

Sassy Brit's Personal / Virtual Assistant Services : bit.ly/MyPatrons

3 comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.